Events

Aviation Events Calendar
Spotlighting Safety and Pilot Proficiency

Visit  FAASAFETY.GOV  for more info & to register for many of the following events.    Others have the information and contact data described.  You are invited to submit your event for publication within our Aviation Events Calendar to: scauwg@earthlink.net

October

3.   “Loss of Control – May the Force(s) be With You” WEBINAR – Exploring our prime task. Managing the forces of flight to maintain control of the aircraft.  October 3, 2018 at 19:00 Eastern Daylight Time (16:00 PDT, 17:00 MDT, 18:00 CDT, 13:00 HST, 15:00 AKDT, 16:00 Arizona, 23:00 GMT) Read More HERE.

4.   “Weather Risk Assessment-Weather Briefings 3”  WEBINAR –  Gain confidence in know if any of the six hazards have a reasonable risk of affecting your flight.  Thursday, October 4, 2018 at 16:30 Pacific Daylight Time (17:30 MDT, 18:30 CDT, 19:30 EDT, 13:30 HST, 15:30 AKDT, 16:30 Arizona, 23:30 GMT)   Read More Here

4.   Pilots and Medications – Mr. Asa Cosby – In this presentation we’ll talk a little bit about a recent GAJSC and FAA studies that feature some interesting findings with respect to pilots and medication – Threshold Technologies – 8352 Kimball Ave. F350 Hangar #3, Chino, CA 91708  6 p.m.

4.  SoCal TRACON Wants to Talk to You – ATC / Pilot Outreach with Rob Reddeg from the SoCal Tracon – Rob Reddeg of SoCal TRACON
Solar Turbines, Kearny Mesa Facility 4200 Ruffin Rd Titan Conference Room San Diego, CA 92123   7 p.m.

6.  Plus One Flyers Club New Member Safety Briefing – Safety Procedures, Both Ground and Air with Shane Terpstra CFI  – Proper preflight procedures, engine starting, taxing, ATC communications, departure and arrival procedures, emergency procedures, collision avoidance, aeronautical decision making, after landing procedure, securing and refueling. A general review of causes of common accidents and incidents.  MYF – Terminal Operations Building,  3750 John J. Montgomery Drive, First Floor, East Entrance, San Diego, CA 92123 9:30 a.m.

6.   Density Altitude with Richard Mend CFII ATP  – Review the details and dynamics!  Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology, 8911 Aviation Blvd, Inglewood, CA  90301   12 p.m.

7.   AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics) Los Angeles – Las Vegas Section luncheon meeting event presentation by Dr. Dan Raymer at The Proud Bird Food Bazaar & Events Center on Sunday 07 OCT 2018 1200-1600.  Dan Raymer, Ph.D., is the former Director of Advanced Design at Lockheed and (amongst other things) he was involved in trade studies with what would have been the follow on bomber aircraft to the “Bone” (Rockwell International B-1A and B-1B Lancer low-level supersonic penetration bomber) at Rockwell International who worked with Harry Scott. who worked on the design configuration of the NASA SPACE SHUTTLE ORBITER, He also has written a GA version of his aerospace engineering textbook Aircraft Design: A Conceptual Approach for homebuilders titled Dan Raymer’s Simplified Aircraft Design for Homebuilders that is also sold by EAA. He has presented at EAA AirVenture in Oshkosh, WI. before, and is a pilot himself, who has qualified to fly aerobatics.

7.   SURVIVING DANGEROUS WINDS! with Ron Berinstein cfii – Vista Aviation Bldg., 10000 Airpark Way, Pacoima, CA (Whiteman Airport) Fly in’s welcome!  10 a.m.

7.   Technology and the Evolution of Aircraft Design  – (COST) The historical development of the key technologies which have allowed the development of today’s aircraft.y, October 7, 2018, starting at 13:30 Pacific Daylight Time Speaker: Dr. Daniel P. Raymer, noted aircraft designer, educator, and author of the best-selling textbook “Aircraft Design: A Conceptual Approach,” will give a talk on the historical development of the key technologies which have allowed the development of today’s aircraft. The talk also sneaks in some of the fundamentals of aircraft design and analysis through a historical context.  The Proud Bird Restaurant (The Mission Room)  11022 Aviation Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045  Read More Here

8.  AIRCRAFT INSURANCE –  PowerPoint and discussion of the common misunderstandings about insurance. With Mike Strombeck, pilot & insurance specialist – Van Nuys Fly Away – 2nd floor conference room – 7610 Woodley Ave. Van Nuys, CA 91406 7 p.m.

9.  SCAUWG Monthly Meeting 10 a.m. – Beach Cities Aviation – 3732 W 120th St, Hawthorne, CA 90250 – Airspace enthusiasts are invited. See SCAUWG.ORG page sidebar for conference call info.

9.  IMC Meeting at Beach Cities Academy – 3732 W 120 St., Hawthorne, CA 92050-  7 p.m.

9.  SCAG – AVIATION TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 p.m. SCAG OFFICES 900 Wilshire Blvd., Ste. 1700 CR-Policy Meeting-B 17th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90017 (213) 236-1800 BY INVITATION

9.  HOT SPOTS, PRACTICE AREAS and DANGEROUS LA BASIN FLIGHT ROUTES  – with Ron Berinstein cfii and possible guests  – Sponsored by the Torrance Pilot’s Association – Torrance Airport Admin Bldg. Torrance, CA  7 p.m.

9.  San Diego North County Aviation Safety Meeting Speaker(s): John Schaper – Airworthiness FPM, San Diego FSDO – Light Sport Aircraft Community Room – Library – Oceanside Civic Center 300 N. Coast Highway Library – Community Room Oceanside, CA 92054 – call Steve Nelson Phone: 858-502-9882 for more info…  6 p.m.

9.  Benefits Of Home-Based Simulators (COST) Using A Home-Based Simulator To Hone Your Skills with Gary Schank, Airbus Captain – Learn how you can economically, and on your own time, expand your flying skills, keep current, and have fun utilizing home-based simulators. Simulators have been the primary learning tool for the airlines for many years. With the advancement of computers, simulators are now available to everyone.  John Wayne Airport Administration Building, 3160 Airway Ave., Costa Mesa, CA 92626  Read More Here

10. “Bonanza / Barron Landing Gear Systems and Maintenance”  WEBINAR – This presentation covers retractable landing gear systems on Beech Aircraft, related inspection, and maintenance procedures. October 10, 2018 at 19:00 Central Daylight Time (17:00 PDT, 18:00 MDT, 20:00 EDT, 14:00 HST, 16:00 AKDT, 17:00 Arizona, 00:00 GMT)   Read More Here

10.  Mastering the Art of Instrument Navigation  Organized “Hangar Flying” Focused On Building Proficiency In Instrument Flying with
Terry Thompson EAA/IMC Prgm Coord, Paul Kortopates CFI/II & FAASTeam Rep  – Believing that safety and proficiency are developed through education and experience. Monthly meetings use real world scenarios to engage our members and allow them to share and build their experience.  For the October meeting, we will discuss an IMC Scenario that examines different criteria we might consider in making a GO-NO GO decision for any flight, with consideration to the Pilot, the airplane and the Weather. Come join us to discuss what factors or concerns that would automatically cause you to Not Go on any particular flight  Serra Mesa/Kearny Mesa Public Library 9005 Aero Dr, San Diego, CA 92123 6:30 p.m.

13.   Apple Valley Air Show & Car Display – Read Full Description Here

13.  “Flight Test Historical Foundation 2018 Gathering of the Eagles” H.W. Hunter Pavilion, Antelope Valley Fairgrounds, 2551 W. Avenue H, Lancaster, CA 93536 5:00 PM PDT – 9:00 PM PDT   The Panel Moderator will be Col. Angela Supplison ], Ph.D., USAF, the Vice-Commander of the AFTC (Air Force Flight Test Center) at Edwards AFB (and who also happens to be the sister of CDR Mike “Sting” Wallace, USNR, the Boeing Company Chief Test Pilot of the “Rhino” (McDonnell Douglas F/A-18E/F Super Hornet) and EA-18G Growler, whose center-aft sections are built nearby here at Northrop Grumman in El Segundo, CA).  The theme this year is Breaking Barriers… Expanding Horizons Celebrating Women in Flight Test.  Read More Here

The Master of Ceremonies will be Lt. Col. “Evil” Bill Gray, USAF (ret.), the Chief Test Pilot of USAF Test Pilot School.

15.  “Safe Self-Briefing – Weather Briefing 2”  WEBINAR   Advanced techniques for identifying potential hazards while significantly reducing time to properly evaluate weather. October 15, 2018 at 17:30 Pacific Daylight Time (18:30 MDT, 19:30 CDT, 20:30 EDT, 14:30 HST, 16:30 AKDT, 17:30 Arizona, 00:30 GMT)  Read More Here 

15.  SPARK PLUGS – What a pilot and a pro needs to know! Discussing how to provide the proper servicing for Aircraft Engine Spark Plugs
Speaker: David Bowerman FAA DME – Discussion of what is necessary in order to protect the health of the spark plugs that are so necessary for good engine performance. A great opportunity for both Pilots and mechanics. Seminar Length 2 hrs.  Aviation Center North Valley Occupational Center NVOC, 16550 Saticoy St, Class Room B, Van Nuys, CA 91406  Directions to Venue: (corner of Hayvenhurst Ave. and Saticoy St.) on KVNY  7 p.m.

16. Human Factors and Decision Making – Decision Points: The Fork In The Road – (COST) Speaker: Brian Schiff Every fork in the road requires a decision. Learn some techniques to help you chose the right path. From assertiveness with ATC to saving Steve Jobs’ life, Captain Schiff will describe some of the landmark decisions he’s made and explain how the outcome has made him a safer pilot. You’ll learn philosophical techniques that can help you do the right thing and what can happen when you do. Conversely, learn what can happen when you make the wrong choice. There is a modest fee for this event. Aviation Facilities, Inc 4119 West Commonwealth Ave, Fullerton, CA 92833 6:30 p.m.

16.  “How To Find Thermals Part 1”  (WEBINAR) This lecture discusses many thermal-finding topics. This lecture series contains a fair amount of thermal theory.  On Tuesday, October 16, 2018 at 17:00 Pacific Daylight Time (18:00 MDT, 19:00 CDT, 20:00 EDT, 14:00 HST, 16:00 AKDT, 17:00 Arizona, 00:00 GMT)

17.   HOT SPOTS, PRACTICE AREAS and DANGEROUS LA BASIN FLIGHT ROUTES – with Ron Berinstein cfii and possible guests –  KEMT San Gabriel Valley Airport Terminal Bldg.  4233 Santa Anita Blvd. about one mile north of El Monte, CA  free parking  7:30 p.m.

17.  How YOU CAN UPGRADE and IMPROVE YOUR AIRCRAFT CHECKLIST – CHECKLIST CONSIDERATIONS that Most GA Checklists Don’t Include, But YOU NEED! with Richard Mend CFI-AIM-ATP  Insuring that your checklist details ALL the information You Need to be as Prepared as possible, is a GOOD IDEA. This Seminar will help you include the Possibly Missing Data that maybe you didn’t even realize you REALLY NEED!   VAN NUYS FLY AWAY, 7610 WOODLEY AVE. SECOND FLOOR CONFERENCE ROOM Van Nuys, CA 91406 7 p.m.

18. Plus One Flyers Club CFI Safety Meeting Safety Procedures and Training Information Shared among Club CFI’s – Shane Terpstra , Plus One Safety Officer – Topics include review of club safety procedures to include taxing, ATC Communications, arrival and departure procedures, collision avoidance, aeronautical decision making, post flight, securing and refueling, review of causes of common accidents and incidents. Courtyard By the Marriott 8651 Spectrum Court Blvd San Diego, CA 92123 5:30 p.m.

19-21 HUNTINGTON BEACH:THE GREAT PACIFIC AIR SHOW! This annual even has been creating a lot of excitement, and is getting larger and larger every year! – BEWARE – VARIOUS TFRs WILL BE IN PLACE!! – The THUNDERBIRDS will be there!! Read More Here
20. 6. Plus One Flyers Club New Member Safety Briefing – Safety Procedures, Both Ground and Air with Shane Terpstra CFI – Proper preflight procedures, engine starting, taxing, ATC communications, departure and arrival procedures, emergency procedures, collision avoidance, aeronautical decision making, after landing procedure, securing and refueling. A general review of causes of common accidents and incidents. MYF – Terminal Operations Building, 3750 John J. Montgomery Drive, First Floor, East Entrance, San Diego, CA 92123 9:30 a.m.

20. The Seven Deadly Sins of Aviation – A view of the most common things that get pilots into trouble. – Captains Gary Schank and Michael Jesch Sponsored by EAA Chapter 14, Brown Field Airport 1409 Continental St San Diego, CA 92154 10 a.m.

20. Dangerous Winds! w/ Ron Berinstein cfii – Apple Valley Airport – Sponsored by EAA Chapter 768 – 21600 Corwin Rd. Apple Valley Ca 92307 – airport admin building. 10 a.m.

20. VFR EMERGENCIES YOU Could EXPERIENCE – Solutions Pilots Need in order to Manage VFR IN-FLIGHT EMERGENCIES with
Richard Mend, CFI-AIM-ATP, FAASTeam Rep. Video and discussion about engine failures, procedures you can use when you are lost, when a crash landing is probable, inflight failures, including control failures, and even the “impossible turn,” and what you need to consider in order to survive it, and more! Active Pilot, 7900 Balboa Blvd. D6 Van Nuys, CA 91406 9 a.m.

21. Sunday Morning Hangar Talk with Ron Berinstein CFII, Aerobatic, FAA WINGS Master Pilot award recipient – Today: the 17 famous Runway Incursions at KVNY, Who Made Them, and Why! -drawn from the time period when KVNY was the country’s incursion king. Plus Aviation News, Entertaining Safety Data, and Free donuts and/or cookies/chips. Conference Room, 2nd floor Vista Bldg . 10000 Airpark Way , Pacoima, CA 91331-7393 KWHP (north side of airport). 10 a.m.

22. ASI Investigates: Weather Accidents Speaker: AOPA ASI Presenter – Airtel Plaza Hotel, 7277 Valjean Avenue, Van Nuys, CA 91406 Some parking $8, street parking free. 7 p.m. Info: Robin @ 310 695 2175

23. ASI Investigates: Weather Accidents Speaker: AOPA ASI Presenter – Doubletree Hotel Ontario Airport 222 North Vineyard Avenue
Ontario, CA 91764 7 p.m. Info: Robin @ 310 695 2175

23. 2018 International Rotorcraft Safety Conference – October 23-25, 2018 – Hurst Conference Center – Hurst, Texas Read More Here

24. Wake Turbulence Avoidance with Richard Mend CFI AIM- ATP FAASTeam Rep – Video and discussion of predicting and avoiding wake turbulence and what action to take if you get caught in it. Santa Monica College Bundy Campus KSMO, 3171 S. Bundy Dr. West Los Angeles, CA 90066-1016 Big, green glass four story building, first driveway past Airport Ave. (College Drive) (Traffic Light) Southeast Corner of KSMO – Go down hill into big free parking lot – head in only! First floor room 123 7 p.m,

24. ASI Investigates: Weather Accidents Speaker: AOPA ASI Presenter – Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3131 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 7 p.m. Info: Robin @ 310 695 2175

24. Long Beach Props Quarterly Meeting – Speaker: Don Thompson, Airport Ops. – There will be FREE food (light dinner; sandwiches, chips, water/sodas, etc.) for about the first 40 people to arrive, starting at 6pm. Hangar flying until 7pm. The meeting officially starts at 7pm. There will be representatives present from Long Beach ATCT, Airport Operations, and Security, as appropriate. There will be a general discussion of any current, relevant safety issues on the airport. The FAA’s Safety Topic of the Month, ‘Pilots and Medications’, will be presented. All pilots, CFI’s and airport users are encouraged to attend. What operational questions for airport ops or ATCT do you have?
Ross Aviation FBO, 3250 AirFlite Way, Long Beach, CA 90807 7 p.m. Read More Here

25. ASI Investigates: Weather Accidents Speaker: AOPA ASI Presenter – Doubletree by Hilton San Diego Hotel Circle 1515 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 7 p.m. Info: Robin @ 310 695 2175

25. Avoiding Loss of Control Accidents – Risk factors in Loss of Control. How to avoid an LOC accident. With Charles Steiger, CFI Loss of Control remains a leading cause of aircraft accidents. Join Charles Steiger, CFI specializing in upset training, as he details the factors leading up to LOC accidents and the measures that pilots can take to keep their aircraft under control at all times and avoid becoming an accident statistic. Complimentary buffet dinner will be served to all attendees in the cafe. Seminar starts promptly at 6 p.m., so diners are requested to arrive by 5:15 so they may finish in time to attend the event. California Aeronautical University, 1450 Boughton Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308

27. IFR Emergencies with Richard Mend, CFI-AIM-ATP FAASTeam Rep. Video and discussion of all of the IFR emergencies and how to recover from them. Active Pilot, 7900 Balboa Boulevard D6 Prop Park West, Van Nuys, CA 91406-1646 9 a.m.

28. Foreflight 101 with Frank Begheri IT and IFR pilot – PowerPoint and discussion of Foreflight from the ground up. A PERFECT OPPORTUNITY for those who want to start learning about Foreflight AND for Everyone else who might want to know MUCH MORE about the program! Frank knows EVERYTHING! Conference Room, 2nd floor Vista Bldg . 10000 Airpark Way , Pacoima, CA 91331-7393 KWHP
(north side of airport) 10 a.m.

29. Runway Incursions with Richard Mend, CFI-AIM-ATP FAASTeam Rep. Video and discussion of runway and taxiway markings practices to prevent incursions and common pilot errors. Runway incursions continue to be a big problem. Don’t miss this seminar. VAN NUYS FLYAWAY Community Meeting Room (second floor) 7610 Woodley Ave., Van Nuys, CA. 91406-1719 (northeast corner Woodley Ave. & Saticoy St. east of KVNY) (FREE parking in the 30 minute parking area for seminar attendees) 7 p.m.

 

November

3.  Plus One Flyers Club New Member Safety Briefing – Safety Procedures, Both Ground and Air with Shane Terpstra CFI – Proper preflight procedures, engine starting, taxing, ATC communications, departure and arrival procedures, emergency procedures, collision avoidance, aeronautical decision making, after landing procedure, securing and refueling. A general review of causes of common accidents and incidents. MYF – Terminal Operations Building, 3750 John J. Montgomery Drive, First Floor, East Entrance, San Diego, CA 92123 9:30 a.m.

17.  Plus One Flyers Club New Member Safety Briefing – Safety Procedures, Both Ground and Air with Shane Terpstra CFI – Proper preflight procedures, engine starting, taxing, ATC communications, departure and arrival procedures, emergency procedures, collision avoidance, aeronautical decision making, after landing procedure, securing and refueling. A general review of causes of common accidents and incidents. MYF – Terminal Operations Building, 3750 John J. Montgomery Drive, First Floor, East Entrance, San Diego, CA 92123 9:30 a.m.